Forced Seduction in Romance: Hot or Not?


Almost immediately he was on top of her, pinning down her writhing body, and it seemed that every move she made only abetted his intent. HEr hair came loose and seemed to stifle her in its mass.

“No!” she gasped. “Leave me alone! Let me be!”

He chuckled and murmured against her throat. “Oh no, my bloodthirsty little wench. Oh no, not now.”

-p29 The Flame and The Flower by Kathleen Woodiwiss

I often see this conversation come up in romancelandia circles, and Woodiwiss is one of the prime examples of rape/forced seduction in romance. I grew up reading Kathleen Woodiwiss and Johanna Lindsey, and I won’t lie I had to go back and find a sex scene to read it and see what people keep talking about. I just don’t remember the rape in the vivid terms that many readers do. Of course having gone back and read it I realize that it is rape, but well you know…it’s fantasy, fiction for me. I see it more as a moment of domination…and that is a definite turn on, as long as it is two consenting adults.

I realize that in Flame and The Flower the scenes are not between two consenting adults. I get it. But I like the concept of a dominant lover, the idea of subjecting myself to his demands, and knowing that what he wants is really what I want because we want the same thing. That is not what we see in these books so I have to agree that the 70’s/80’s rape scenes/forced seductions are very different from today’s empowered and consensual forced seduction scenes found in BDSM erotic romance.

I wanna know what you all think…take the poll and/or leave a comment!